Parasec recently received notification from the California Secretary of State (CA SOS) that an internal business audit has determined that the CA SOS’s Business Programs Division has not been applying the statutory fee applicable to certified copy requests correctly. Instead of charging a flat $5 certification fee per request (in addition to copy and counter fees), they were supposed to be charging the $5 certification fee per document. Therefore, in addition to the copy fee of $1.00 for the first page and $ 0.50 for each additional page, the $5.00 statutory fee for a certified copy of a filed document will be applied uniformly within the Business Programs Division to counter and mail requests. (See Government Code section 12183(a).) For example, a $5 certification fee was being charged for a certified copy of articles with three amendments, but the certification fee should have been $20. Effective August 1, 2017, the state will start charging the correct amount.
The Washington Department of Licensing issued a warning on its website of the possible full or partial shutdown of services starting July 1 due to a budget impasse in the legislature. If the legislature fails to approve the operating and capital budgets for the 2017–19 biennium by June 30, many services (including Uniform Commercial Code and notary services) will be suspended until the budgets are approved. For more on the possible shutdown and what services may be impacted, go here.
The Nevada Department of Taxation is trying to get the word out regarding a sales tax rate increase in Washoe and Clark counties that went into effect April 1, 2017. Apparently, some businesses are reaching out to the department saying that they were not informed of the increase. If you’re business operates in either of those counties, please see below for specific information regarding the rate increase.
Effective April 1, 2017, the Sales and Use Tax rate for Washoe County increased from 7.725% to 8.265%.
Effective April 1, 2017, the Sales and Use Tax rate for Clark County increased from 8.15% to 8.25%.
If you have any questions, please contact the Parasec Nevada office at 888.972.7273. You can also reach out to the Department of Taxation’s call center directly at 866.962.3707.
On Friday, June 9 an off-site employee recognition event is planned for all the employees of the Department of State Division of Corporations. Staff members will be departing at 11:30 a.m., and there will not be an evening shift. This schedule change will mean:
- There will be no Priority 3 (same-day service) or Priority 5 (“must approvals”) available.
- All 30-minute and Priority 1 (one-hour service) must be received by 10:00 a.m.
- Priority 2 (two-hour service) must be received by 9:00 a.m.
- All Priority 4 (24-hour service) must be received by 12:00 p.m.
Give our Delaware office a call at 888.372.7273 if you have any questions.
Effective July 1, 2017, Wyoming House Bill 0023 permits the Wyoming Secretary of State (WY SOS) to send notices via first class mail and/or electronic means—including email—rather than by certified mail. Additionally, the bill allows the WY SOS to return rejected documents within 15 days instead of five days, and eliminates the publication of notice that a LLP’s registration has lapsed. To read the bill in its entirety, click here.
The Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs’ (DCCA) Business Registration Division (BREG) has issued a reminder that annual reports for entities that incorporated/qualified in April, May or June are due by June 30th every year after. That said, Hawaii annual reports can be filed at any time during the quarter in which the annual filing is due…so don’t delay! Failure to meet the deadline results in a $10 penalty per year, which really isn’t much, but there’s no point in incurring unnecessary late fees, right? For filing-related questions or assistance, give our registered agent department, Paracorp, a call at 888.272.3725 or email email@example.com.
Every limited liability company, limited partnership and general partnership that is registered to do business in the state of Delaware (both foreign and domestic) is required to pay an annual tax of $300 due on or before June 1 of each year. Failure to meet the deadline will result in a $200 penalty fee, as well as interest on both the annual tax and penalty fee, which will accrue at a rate of 1.5% per month. If franchise tax payment is not made for 3 consecutive years, the Delaware entity will be deemed void on the Secretary of State’s records. If Paracorp is your registered agent and you need any additional assistance, feel free to give us a call at 888.272.3725 or shoot us an email at firstname.lastname@example.org. Clients that wish to remit payment directly to the State of Delaware Division of Corporations may do so by going here.
For those of you dealing with the headaches involved in maintaining compliance for multiple entities, we have a solution! Centralize your compliance with Parasec’s Managed Annual Report Services (MARS), and our experienced staff will help you greatly reduce the risk of missed filings, costly penalties, the loss of good standing and, ultimately, the security of your business. Parasec will track each of your entities for you, in each state, and their required report filings throughout the year. Protect your business entities by enrolling in MARS. Give us a call today at 888.272.3725.